Takes the Cake!

Hi bloggies! Sorry for the delayed post…with the start of class, my LSAT test date looming, and work, this has been a CRAZY week. My predicted rest day didn’t happen, but my workout was FUN and with the boy. We went to the mini Schlitterbahn leisure pool as planned, and swam 500m before PLAY time!

Then I came home to marinate my strawberries in balsamic syrup to go over the angel food cake I made the night before. We were going over to some friends house for dinner and I volunteered to bring dessert. I LOVE angel food cake, and was very excited about how this one turned out! I used this recipe and it turned out beautifully…though I think my folding technique needs a little work! Our friend Manoj made some awesome tilapia served over pasta with peas, and we enjoyed the beautiful summer weather by eating on the patio.

I went inside to serve the cake and found this…

NO CAKE!

NO CAKE!

Turns out their dog Brownie had different plans for us! HE ATE THE WHOLE CAKE! This one really “takes the cake” (quite literally) as far as dinner disasters go, but it was so hilarious that no one really cared! It must have been good…he ate the whole thing! And wouldn’t even show his face…

The culprit

The culprit

I hope he is feeling okay today, though I doubt it!

Todays RUNdown:After a past couple of nights of only 6 hours of sleep, skipping my run was tempting this morning. However, I knew it was only 4 miles and I would feel a lot more refreshed after running than I would of 30 more minutes of laying in bed dreading my day. I was right! I made an effort to take it slow, and tried to remember that I am running for life, not to beat some imaginary time today.
I finished in 30 minutes, did some push-ups, tricep dips, and bicycle crunches before starting my day.

I made a smoothie last night to speed up my morning (I have class at 8:00) and had a side of egg white fluffies for some extra protein. I NEEEEEEED to buy protein powder but it’s so expensive! Regardless, these are great, yummy, and added 6 grams of protein to my morning, not bad huh?

Egg White Fluffies

Egg White Fluffies


-2 egg whites
-Tabasco to taste…or skip if you’re not a hot person.
-Sprinkle of sea salt

To make: this process is pure GENIUS I tell ya…spray the inside of a coffee cup with cooking spray, add the egg whites, sprinkle the top with salt, microwave, covered, for a minute and a half and there ya have it! Add tabasco or salsa to your liking!

Time for work! But here is something that stopped me in my tracks today, maybe it will have the same effect on you…
For am I now seeking the favor of men, or of God? Or am I striving to please men? If I were still trying to please men, I would not be a bond-servant of Christ” -Galations 1:10

Leave a Reply

