Post #2…I guess this makes me official!

I’m pretty sure no one is following my blog yet, but that’s okay, hopefully I will get a LOT of traffic when I send out support letters & e-mails with links here and to my TNT page!

Yesterday I did a workout I really enjoy, because I think it teaches my body to keep going when tired (hellooooo marathon), but it doesn’t focus on stressing specific areas, it wears me out all around!
Warm-up run to the rec: 1.5mi @ 8(ish) minute pace
Stationary cycle for 30 min
Arm/chest/core weights, anywhere from 10-15 minutes
Run home!: 1.5 mi

Usually this takes a little over an hour, and keeps my average heart rate around 160, which is awesome, and I get in cardio and weights. I have found that if I have running to look forward to I am much more motivated to lift weights.

I would like to pretend that I have enough time/dedication to post every meal like so many incredible food bloggers out there, but that would just lead to serious disappointment. So, I will post the highlights, and some recipes if deemed worthy!

My work schedule requires me to eat a pretty hefty late lunch/early dinner. Basically what I end up doing is switching my traditional late afternoon snack and dinner, and if I’m working a long shift I will bring a snack to work as well. On the menu yesterday was…

Big as my FACE taco salad!

Big as my FACE taco salad!

Mmmmmm! This guy was so big, as I was building it I had to transfer it to a 9″ pie plate for everything to fit, but it was glorious and filled me up perfectly. It included;
Bed of fresh spinach
1 serving black beans
1/8 cup chopped red onion
1/8 cup chopped bell peppers
1 chopped roma tomato
Dashes of garlic powder, cumin, pepper, salt, and lime juice!
1/2 Avocado
1 T Greek yogurt (“sour cream”)
1 serving Guiltless Gourmet blue corn tortilla chips
1 SMIDGE Mrs. Renfros Jalapeno Salsa…this stuff is HOT, and I am a salsa fiend! It will leave you sweating, guaranteed.

Nutritious and delicious!

I bought the Guiltless Gourmet chips for a blue corn crusted snapper I made last week, they were on sale and looked intriguing. I am not a fan of baked chips, and I think alone they don’t pass the test, but they have been fantastic incorporated into meals such as these.

I usually take two rest days a week. Today would have been that day, but after work and weights this week, I wanted to work out some tension, so I hit the pool for some good non-impact cardio. I am a terrible swimmer, but enjoy the challenge nonetheless. I swam 500m in 20 minutes (don’t judge) and called it a day!

Lunch was taco salad reincarnated for Jacob, who didn’t even complain about there being no meat because there was so much amazingness going on (score 1 for me!) and dinner was shrimp stir fry, which went un-pictured because we were both starving our arms off! I used a touch of sesame oil for the first time tonight, it gave an AWESOME additional layer of flavor, I’ve been missing out!

Time to make some progress on TNT stuff and GREYS SEASON FINALE! I’ll leave you with SUCH an amazing verse that Jesus greeted me with this morning…
“God’s way is perfect. All the Lord’s promises prove true. He is a shield for all who look to him for protection. For who is God except the Lord? Who but our God is a solid rock? God is my strong fortress, and he makes my way perfect.”
-2 Samuel 31-33

Leave a Reply

