Mini tempo

This morning I woke up before my alarm went off, which is not unusual. What was unusual, however, was my inability to lay in bed for even that last ten minutes. I knew I had a run planned and was too excited. Is this a little ridiculous? Maybe. I am I too ashamed to admit it? Obviously not!

I am trying not to overdo it when it comes to training, especially this far out, but I really have my heart set on a sub 4 hour marathon, if not 3:30 (Call that my “gold medal” goal if you will). Today was just 3 miles, which I find very un-exciting, so I decided to jazz it up a little and do a mini tempo run, if you can even call it that. I did a mile and a half warm-up at about an 8 minute pace, and then a mile at 7:15 pace. My legs couldn’t have felt better, my cardio respiratory system was expressing its distress a bit though. Instead of a jogging recovery, I went into the rec center, did a solid round of upper body weights, and then ran the mile and a half home.

Legs felt great all day! They are tired and sore-ish now, but I just worked and it was their first speedy outing in quite some time. Hopefully tomorrow I will hear from my doctor!

I had some gooooooood eats today! Let me share;

Breakfast

Post-run oatmeal!

Post-run oatmeal!

This bowl was gigantic, which I loved.
-1/2 c rolled oats
-1 c water
-1/2 c silk
-2 egg whites
-1 banana
-1 T Raisins
-Cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla for flavor/sweetness
-1 T Raw almond butter
-Sprinkle of Grape Nuts (OUT of granola..sad.)

LUNCH was reminiscent of my childhood, and it was divine, though MUCH improved. I used to down bean and cheese tacos like nobody’s business. Breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack, after-game, before-game, didn’t matter! 1, 2, 3, or sometimes 4, I LIVED ON BEAN AND CHEESE TACOS. So though this was a far cry from Taco Cabana’s, I enjoyed it in all its gloriousness. And it made me ever so much more excited to be going home to San Antonio this weekend!

The set-up:
DSCN2103
-1 Ezekiel tortilla, cut in half
-Organic veggie style refried beans (can is empty, I obviously heated up the beans…this was just for photographic purposes!)
-2% cheese
-Jalapenos
-Guacamole…sorta. Not my dad’s recipe, basically just avocado, lime, cumin, fajita seasoning, and garlic.
-Tomato, that I proceeded to dice!

All together now…

The gloriousness + roasted summer squash and zuccini in the background!

The gloriousness + roasted summer squash and zuccini in the background!

And lastly, dinner. I worked at 6 and Jacob had his MCAT class at 6, so we got to be senior citizens together and eat at 5! Which had me cooking at 4:30ish? I’m ALWAYS hungry, so I’m not going to lie…this is almost desirable. Dinner was easy, delicious, and a favorite of ours. I’m apparently technologically challenged and haven’t figured out how to effectively hyperlink, but this is a Giada recipe from Giada’s Kitchen. I like this book, but don’t LOVE it as much as Everyday Italian. It definitely has some good recipes, but I have gotten a lot more out of her more basic one. This recipe is a winner though:

Whole-Wheat Spaghetti with Lemon, Basil and Salmon

Whole-Wheat Spaghetti with Lemon, Basil and Salmon

Recipe can be found here:
http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/giada-de-laurentiis/whole-wheat-spaghetti-with-lemon-basil-and-salmon-recipe/index.html

What’s even more exciting is the basil I used was grown from my very own basil plant! YAYYYYYYY! It truly is the little things in life people!

Have a good night friends. Hasta manana.

2 responses to “Mini tempo

  1. Your day of food looks delicious. When is your marathon?

    • runandrejoice

      Thanks! It’s not until NOVEMBER! It’s the Rock N Roll in San Antonio…Which is why I’m trying not to jump the gun, but I am seriously SO excited.

      Are you planning on doing that one also?

Leave a Reply

