Negative Splits!

Obviously the tempo run never happened yesterday. I was sick to my stomach all day long. Darn wine and greasy food that I never eat (but was oh so delicious). I woke up this morning itching to run…I’m baaaack!

Today’s RUNdown:
Mile 1-1.5: 11:00min
Mile 1.5-2.5: 7:30
Mile 2.5-3.5: 7:25
Mile 3.5-4.5: 7:22
Mile 4.5-6: 12:00ish minutes
Total: 45:16
Avg HR: 178
Max HR: 209 (Whoah!)

I think those are the right times, I was doing the math in my head while trying to keep my pace. If you know me you know very well that I am terrible at math, even simple addition and subtraction. It’s embarassing, really, but we all have our strengths…anddd weaknesses, haha. All in all it was a great run, it was definitely challenging but not exhausting. I ran to my universities track, which is a mile and a half from my apartment, and ran around it 3 times, it is a mile loop, then back to my apartment. The distances worked out perfect.

I also broke out of my Green Monster Rut. I had a peach that was a bit mushy for my taste, so I decided to make a Peach Pie smoothie using a packet of Green Superfood instead of my chocolate powder.

Peach Pie Green Monster:
1 mushy peach
1/2 frozen banana
1.5 cup light soymilk
1T peanut butter
2cups spinach
Dashes of ginger, nutmeg and cinnamon…heavy on the cinnamon!

Yum. Rivals the chocolate green monster for sure. It tasted so summery!

Here’s the recipe for my favorite birthday cake! It is a little non-traditional as far as birthday cakes go, but I have had it every single year, once a year, on my birthday since I can remember! It is simple and not too sweet, just like I like it. I have no clue where my mom found the recipe, but I’m sure glad she did!

Saucy Apple Swirl Cake
1/4c sugar
2t cinnamon
1pkg moist yellow cake mix
15oz jar applesauce
3 eggs

Heat oven to 350 Farenheit. Grease & flour a bundt pan. (Obviously the one Jacob made this year for my birthday was just in a 9×13 cake pan, so that works too! Bundt pan just adds a little pizazz, and allows for a cool line through the middle when you add the cinnamon and sugar). In a small bowl combine sugar and cinnamon and set aside.

In a large bowl, blend cake mix, applesauce and eggs until moistened. Beat for 2 minutes at highest speed. Pour 1/2 batter into pan. Sprinkle w/sugar mixture. Cover with remaining batter. Bake 35-45 minutes. Cool upright in pan for 25 minutes then turn onto a serving plate. Cool. Before serving, sift powdered sugar on top.

Doesn’t get easier (or more delicious) than that, folks! Thanks for reading, have a great day!

3 responses to “Negative Splits!

  1. that’s a great run! there is a track that is a mile around??? well that is pretty convenient!!!!! 🙂 so funny about the math but i am def the same way!! 🙂 thanks for the recipe 🙂

  2. Glad Jacob made that cake for you-it is easy and yummy. We even made it on the houseboat one summer for your birthday!

  3. I feel gross after greasy food too. My stomach just isn’t used to it anymore.

Leave a Reply

