Channeling my childhood

Hola amigos! I had a great run today after two days off, love fresh legs!

Todays RUNdown: 4mi, 30min, 7:30 average pace, though it was more slow-fast-slow and just rounded out like that. I was keeping it easy but not too easy today. I really pushed myself in the middle, but made sure to warm up and cool down well.

I am near the end of my Amazing Grass (the horror!) so I am diversifying my breakfasts a bit. This morning I returned to an old favorite, and while it was absolutely delicious, I was reminded why I hadn’t eaten it in so long. I didn’t take a picture, but I had old-fashioned oats, the typical mix:
-1/4c. old fashioned oats
-1/4c. oat bran
-1/2c. water
-1/2c. soymilk
-1 egg white
-1 banana
-vanilla, cinnamon, raisins
-spoonful of almond butter
-sprinkling of granola!

Delicious but tooooo hot! I forgot how filling this was though, and my usual 11:00 hunger strike didn’t hit until after noon today. Which brings me to my next point. I rarely post lunch pictures because it is so often this:
DSCN2495
A HUGE bowl of salad. With all kinds of goodness going on. Dressings vary from Annie’s, to simple olive oil and balsamic vinegar, to salsa! And a fruit on the side for “dessert”. Look at the depth of that thing, mmm mmm!

You may know that I grew up in San Antonio, Texas. If not…now you do. I decided today to channel that and make some spicyyyy enchiladas! I have never liked red sauce enchiladas, but enjoy green chile or sour cream enchiladas. So, I played a little and came up with a winner! Authentic? Probably not. Delicious? You betcha! (Whoahhh Sarah Palin) and healthy too!

Lauren’s Green Chile Chicken Enchiladas
-2 cooked and shredden boneless skinless chicken breasts
-1 small chopped onion
-2-3 cloves garlic
-1/4c. chopped cilantro
-1c. salsa verde (I did about 3oz. jalapeno salsa and 5oz Herdez brand salsa verde, I like the Herdez brand but the jalapeno gave it an extra kick. You could just add a diced jalapeno for the same effect, or go straight salsa verde if you don’t want the spice!)
-4oz diced green chiles
-1c. lite sour cream
-whole wheat tortillas
-chili powder
-1/2c. queso fresco, monterrey jack, or other cheese
-2 limes, sliced

Preheat oven to 425
Blend together the onion, garlic, cilantro, salsa, and a few tablespoons of green chiles.
Once cooled, shred the chicken into a large bowl and mix about 1/2c. of the sour cream into the chicken. Then mix in about half of your sauce mixture, plus a few shakes of chili powder. Take your tortillas one at a time, dab them in your sauce, lay them on a board and spoon about 1/4c. of the chicken filling into the center of the tortilla. Roll, and lay seam side down in a greased baking dish. Continue until all tortillas have been filled. Top with remaining sauce and cheese, then sprinkle chili powder over the top. Bake for about 15 minutes, or until cheese begins to brown and sauce is bubbling.

After removing from oven, I squeezed half of a lime over the top of the enchiladas to bring out the fresh flavors. I also served with lime wedges and a dollop of sour cream…
DSCN2496
**Mine didn’t have cheese because I totally misjudged how much I had left and gave it all to the boys! Still ABSOLUTELY DIVINE though!

Hope y’all enjoy that, let me know if you try it out! See y’all tomorrow after my 7miler.

2 responses to “Channeling my childhood

  1. Your enchiladas look perfect. I like red enchiladas but I prefer the verdes as well.

  2. Good looking enchiladas! Texas is the best place for Mexican food!

Leave a Reply

